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HEARING(S) 

Auxiliary aids for persons with disabilities are available upon advance request. Notify the contact listed above.

DATE: 04/22/2024 

TIME: 11:30 AM 

OFFICER: Claudia Ciobanu

 

IN-PERSON HEARING DETAILS 

ADDRESS: Oregon State Treasury, 867 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301 

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

Please sign in at reception.

 

REMOTE HEARING DETAILS 

MEETING URL: Click here to join the meeting 

PHONE NUMBER: 971-279-6217 

CONFERENCE ID: 21613257 

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

Toll Free: 833-213-7399 

Microsoft Team Meeting 

Meeting ID: 288 640 158 275 

Passcode: U8Spsz

NEED FOR THE RULE(S)

HB 2160 (2023) legislative session made certain changes to ORS chapter 98 and 192.355 to enhance the Treasurer’s 

ability to protect property rights, improve compliance and ensure certain data are protected from public disclosure to 

increase the public’s confidence that claiming their property will not have unintended negative consequences. These 

law changes took effect January 1st, 2024. The rules are needed to provide timely guidance to those affected by the 
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laws. In addition, the Treasurer has seen an increase in fraudulent claims and seeks immediate action to reduce the 

opportunity for fraudulent claims being filed. Lastly, the rules can be improved through greater clarity and alignment 

with other applicable rules. 

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE

HB 2160 (2023). https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Measures/Overview/HB2160.

STATEMENT IDENTIFYING HOW ADOPTION OF RULE(S) WILL AFFECT RACIAL EQUITY IN THIS STATE

The proposed rules support statutory changes meant to further protect consumer rights and decrease the risk of fraud. 

They do not create additional reporting requirements or increase the cost of compliance for racially diverse groups. 

They also do not increase the burden of proof for claimants of unclaimed property. Therefore, the rules do not have a 

new impact on racially diverse communities. If anything, some of the rules have a positive impact on traditionally 

disadvantaged communities. More specifically, Oregon State Treasury seeks to protect claimant information from 

public disclosure. That will allow individuals to claim their funds without the risk of negative personal consequences.

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT: 

In general, the proposed rules are expected to have minimal impact on most businesses. Businesses that report wages 

will be required to report unclaimed wages after a year of no contact with the owner rather than after 3 years. This is 

still a yearly process for all holders of unclaimed wages. However, in the first year after the rules take effect, businesses 

may have a greater level of reporting, which will level off after the first year. Treasury has already communicated with 

many affected businesses and is prepared to offer additional training and flexibility for reporting as holders adjust to the 

new rules. 

 

Holders of fiduciary property will now see the property in their possession becoming reportable after 3 years of no 

contact with owners, rather than 2 years. Yearly reporting expectations remain the same. Under the new rules, 

businesses should experience a lower level of reporting in 2024 and greater levels in 2025; after the 2025 reporting 

season, reporting should normalize. Treasury has already communicated with many affected holders that have already 

performed due diligence for property they expected to deliver to Treasury based on the 2-year standard. They are 

concerned about the potential of duplicating due diligence costs. Treasury understands these concerns and is allowing 

holders the flexibility to either report in 2024 under the old standards or report in 2025 based on the 2025 due 

diligence results. 

 

The proposed rules may increase compliance costs for business in the securities management sector. Treasury 

estimates it receives reports from 40-60 medium to large holders of unclaimed securities nationwide; the number of 

owners on each report varies greatly from year to year, so it is difficult to predict future reporting. Under the old rules, 

these businesses were only required to perform one due diligence attempt to locate owners; that effort was in the form 

of a standard letter. The new rules require two mailings before deeming securities as abandoned and reporting them to 

the state. Treasury wants to ensure owners have multiple opportunities to reconnect with their property before taking 

custody of their assets. 

 

The increase in compliance costs for this industry may be small given the other steps Treasury is taking to make due 

diligence reasonable and flexible. For example, Treasury’s new rules allow electronic communication as the first contact 

with owners, which is a much cheaper and efficient way to perform due diligence. Treasury is being specific in its 

communication to ensure holders understand that if owners have activity on another account at the same institution, 

the owners should not be considered to have lost contact with their securities accounts. 
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Lastly, the second mailing should only happen to a portion of accounts that were sent an initial notice. The cost of the 

second mailing should be mitigated, at least in part, by the ability to send electronic notifications in the first contact. 

Furthermore, the cost of two due diligence efforts will likely be smaller overall than the cost of communicating with 

upset owners whose property was incorrectly sent to the state, or the holders’ efforts to process owner transfers. 

 

Treasury recognizes that businesses will have a small cost associated with educating themselves on the rules. As are 

result, the program will offer additional training and written guidance for free through its website, as well as customized 

training upon request throughout 2024. 

COST OF COMPLIANCE: 

(1) Identify any state agencies, units of local government, and members of the public likely to be economically affected by the 

rule(s). (2) Effect on Small Businesses: (a) Estimate the number and type of small businesses subject to the rule(s); (b) Describe the 

expected reporting, recordkeeping and administrative activities and cost required to comply with the rule(s); (c) Estimate the cost 

of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration required to comply with the rule(s). 

(1)  The rules on reporting unclaimed wages affect all holders of unclaimed property, including state agencies, units of 

the local government and individuals. However, this is not a new rule; unclaimed wages have been subject to the 

Abandoned Property Act for decades. The rest of the rules changes affect businesses operating in the financial services 

industry, such as banks, investment firms and transfer agents, etc. The rules do not add new properties that need 

reporting; rather, they clarify expectations regarding due diligence and introduce specific timelines for properties that 

were otherwise treated under a general umbrella of reportable property. As mentioned in the Fiscal and Economic 

Impact section above, most of the rules are expected to have little cost on the business community. For those operating 

in the investment sector, costs of due diligence could go up, but most should be mitigated by the ability to do electronic 

outreach, a clear and precise application of Oregon’s abandonment standard, and overall lower costs of dealing with 

customer complaints. 

 

(2)(a) Every small business in Oregon is potentially affected by unclaimed property laws. However, the proposed 

changes do not impose additional requirements on small businesses. The greatest impact is in the area of reporting 

wages. Uncashed wages are currently reported to Treasury after 3 years; the rule changes the standard to 1 year. 

Businesses are still expected to report yearly, but in the first year after the rules take effect, businesses may have a 

greater level of reporting. Treasury is working with businesses to address their workload concerns if needed and offer 

extensions. After the first reporting cycle, businesses should not experience any impacts. Some small businesses may be 

affected by the change for fiduciary property, which extends reporting time from two to three years. These businesses 

will continue to report yearly, as they have been doing prior to 2024. In 2024, some of the property that would have 

been due under the old rules is now reportable in 2025. Treasury is already addressing concerns. As mentioned in the 

Fiscal and Economic Impact section above, Treasury will allow holders of these properties the flexibility to either report 

in 2024 under the old standards or report in 2025 based on the 2025 due diligence results. 

 

(b) There are no new costs for reporting, recordkeeping, and administrative expenses for small businesses to comply 

with these rules. Businesses, regardless of size, have always been required to report unclaimed property to the State 

and perform due diligence prior to reporting. The only change would be a one-time understanding of the new schedule 

and a system adjustment for tracking wages from three years to one, and fiduciary properties from two to three years. 

 

(c) There are no costs for professional services or equipment supplies to comply with the rules. Some business could 

experience a small increase in time dedicated to understanding the new rules and ensure they comply properly. Because 

the reporting timeframe is reduced, more property would be due this year than originally anticipated, so businesses may 

spend slightly more time in preparing a longer report this year. However, in the following year, less property could be 

due, and going forward, workloads should level out. Treasury will work with businesses that need additional time to 
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comply with the new change. In addition, Treasury will offer extensive training and written guidance for free through its 

website, as well as customized training upon request throughout 2024.

DESCRIBE HOW SMALL BUSINESSES WERE INVOLVED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THESE RULE(S):

Oregon State Treasury did significant outreach in 2023 as HB 2160 was being considered by the Oregon Legislature. At 

that time, the program received feedback from businesses of various sizes, located in Oregon and across the US. The 

program held several meetings with interested parties and received written suggestions and feedback on the proposed 

language and its potential impact on those expected to comply. Since HB 2160 became law, the program reached out to 

many holders in its database and other stakeholders, such as advocates, accountants, and unclaimed property software 

providers, to ensure the laws are clear and address everyone’s concerns as best as possible.

WAS AN ADMINISTRATIVE RULE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CONSULTED?  NO   IF NOT, WHY NOT?

The agency did not convene a rules advisory committee for these rule changes for three reasons: 

(1) Treasury did significant work during the 2023 legislative session to understand the impacts of legislative changes on 

stakeholders, especially the impacts on small businesses. The rules changes are expected to have minimal impact on 

small businesses, and the program has a comprehensive plan to educate holders on the new requirements and offer 

flexibility regarding reporting timelines for reporting year 2024. 

 

(2) Some of the changes in this rulemaking effort were requested by the holder community because they would simplify 

operations and decrease their cost of compliance across multiple states. Therefore, a rules advisory committee was not 

deemed necessary. 

 

(3) These rules have a very broad impact, and identifying the right entities to serve on the rules committee has proven 

challenging. The program believed it would not be able to talk to those most impacted and that we would likely hear 

from those with whom we already have close contact. Instead, the agency planned extensive outreach for the 

rulemaking effort, which should give it greater feedback from diverse stakeholders, and feedback that may not have 

otherwise been possible through a rules advisory meeting.

RULES PROPOSED: 

170-140-0020, 170-140-0115, 170-140-0140, 170-145-0005, 170-145-0010, 170-145-0015, 170-145-0020, 170-

145-0025, 170-145-0040, 170-145-0045, 170-145-0050, 170-145-0055, 170-145-0100

AMEND: 170-140-0020

RULE SUMMARY:  Adding provision about protecting certain unclaimed property details purchased by persons from 

the Treasurer and not disclosed on the Treasurer’s website to reduce the opportunity for fraudulent claims.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-140-0020 
Finder's List of Unclaimed and Escheat Property 
(1) Any Person may request a Finder's List of Unclaimed and Escheat Property.¶ 
(2) To complete the request, the Person must: ¶ 
(a) Submit the request electronically through the Treasurer's Electronic Payment Gateway. ¶ 
(b) Email the completed Finder's List Order Form to claims@ost.state.or.us; or¶ 
(c) Mail or deliver the completed the Finder's List Order Form to the following address: ¶ 
¶ 
Oregon's Unclaimed Property Program¶ 
Oregon State Treasury¶ 
775 Summer Street NE, Ste 100¶ 
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867 Hawthorne Ave SE¶ 
Salem, OR 97301-12795241¶ 
(3) The Person must pay the fee of not less $150.00 prior to receiving the report. The report will not be released 
for 20 calendar days unless the request is by credit card, debit card, electronic check, money order, or cashier's 
check at the time the request is made. ¶ 
(4) No Person who purchases a Finder's List of Unclaimed and Escheat Property from the Treasurer may publicly 
publish any detail from the lists that is not available on the Treasurer's unclaimed property website.¶ 
[You may order a Finder's List from Treasurer's website at https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/electronic-payment-
gateway/Pages/default.aspx] 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 98.050, ORS 178.050 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.050
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AMEND: 170-140-0115

RULE SUMMARY: Adding public records exemptions based on statutory changes made during the 2023 legislative 

session (ORS 192.355), which took effect January 1st, 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-140-0115 
Evidence Supporting a Claim 
(1) Generally. The Claimant may submit documents or records to establish a legal entitlement to Property. 
Documents or other records establishing entitlement include, but are not limited to: ¶ 
(a) Copies of documents showing addresses, including but not limited to utility bills, tax records, or original 
correspondence addressed to the Owner at the address reported to the Director;¶ 
(b) Passbooks, statements of accounts, canceled checks, deposit slips;¶ 
(c) Copy of, or original stock certificate in the Owner's name, copy of prior dividend payment or statement, stock 
transmittal receipt, brokerage firm statement;¶ 
(d) Original insurance policies, premium or dividend statements;¶ 
(e) Original deposit slips or receipts;¶ 
(f) Original certified or photo copies of court documents;¶ 
(g) Newspaper articles including marriage announcements, birth or obituary notices;¶ 
(h) Family or church records, baptismal certificates, or personal correspondence;¶ 
(i) Public or business records;¶ 
(j) Signature verification cards from financial institutions;¶ 
(k) Testimonial evidence, including properly notarized affidavits; or¶ 
(l) Any other forms of evidence sufficient to meet the burden of proof under the circumstances.¶ 
(2) Military Medals. If the Claim is for Military Medals, evidence to prove legal entitlement includes, but is not 
limited to:¶ 
(a) Military discharge documents;¶ 
(b) An award certificate of the Military Medal; or¶ 
(c) Proof of purchase.¶ 
(3) Successor. If the Claimant is a Successor, evidence to prove legal entitlement includes, but is not limited to: ¶ 
(a) Certified copies of probate documents;¶ 
(b) Small estate affidavit;¶ 
(c) Final Decree of Distribution; ¶ 
(d) A will;¶ 
(e) A death certificate; or¶ 
(f) Letters Testamentary.¶ 
(4) Property held for the benefit of a business under an assumed business name (Doing Business As). If the Claim is 
filed on behalf of an individual, but the Claim relates to Property held for the benefit under an assumed business 
name or "doing business as", evidence to prove legal entitlement includes, but is not limited to: ¶ 
(a) Tax statements; or¶ 
(b) Business license.¶ 
(5) Records assembled, received, or used by the state in connection with a Claim are exempt from public disclosure 
per ORS 192.355(46), except to the extent that the Claimant consents to the information's disclosure. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 98.422, ORS 178.050 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.392
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AMEND: 170-140-0140

RULE SUMMARY: Clarifying and aligning rule language with program practice and other applicable rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-140-0140 
Requesting a Contested Case Hearing 
(1) A Claimant who disagrees with any proposed decision ofissued by the Treasurer under OAR 170-140-0135 
may file a request for a contested case hearing. ¶ 
(2) The request must: ¶ 
(a) Be filreceived within 60 days of the date of the Treasurer's decision; and¶ 
(b) Be in writing; ¶ 
(c) Identify the issues of law or fact being contested; and¶ 
(d) Provide a summary of the evidence asserted in the petition.¶ 
(3) The Claimant must file the request for contested case hearing either by:¶ 
(a) Emailing the request to claims@ost.state.or.us; or ¶ 
(b) Mailing or delivering the request to the following address: ¶ 
¶ 
Oregon's Unclaimed Property Program¶ 
Oregon State Treasury¶ 
775 Summer Street NE, Ste 100¶ 
867 Hawthorne Ave SE¶ 
Salem, OR 97301-12795241¶ 
(4) The Office of Administrative Hearings will conduct the contested case hearing as provided under OAR 137-
003-0515 and01 to 137-003-0520. The Administrative Law Judge may only issue a Proposed and Final Order. ¶ 
(5) No new evidence may be submitted at the contested case hearing. If new evidence is discovered after the 
request is filed, the administrative law judge must remand the case to the Treasurer for further review700. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 98.422, ORS 178.050 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.402
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AMEND: 170-145-0005

RULE SUMMARY: Adding definitions for properties that were not specifically addressed in previous rules; clarifying 

definitions and adding examples to provide better guidance; removing definitions that are no longer needed.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0005 
Definitions 
For the purposes of these rules, unless the context requires otherwise, the capitalized words and phrases used in 
these rules have the same meaning as provided in ORS 98.302 and:¶ 
(1) "Capital Gains" means gains or profit realized on the sale or exchange of a capital asset, or the excess of 
proceeds over cost, or other basis, from the sale of a capital asset.¶ 
(2) "Credit Memorandum" or "Credit Memo" means a transaction posted to a customer account which reduced 
the account balance and is related to a previously posted invoice or charge, correcting and reducing the amount 
originally charged.¶ 
(3) "Descendant" has the meaning given that term in ORS 111.005.¶ 
(4) "Distribution" has the meaning given that term in ORS 98.322(1)(a).¶ 
(5) "Dividend" means cash which accrues by the earnings of a company and which is paid to the Owner of 
securities issued by that company.¶ 
(56) "Dividend Reinvestment Plan" means additional securities of the same company which are credited to an 
Owner's account in lieu of cash.¶ 
(67) "Dormant" means without Owner generated activity or Owner contact for a prescribed time. See also 
"Inactive".¶ 
(78) "Due Diligence" means taking reasonable and necessary steps in good faith to locate the rightful Owner of 
Property before the Property is reported to the state.¶ 
(89) "Examination" means examining the records of any Person to determine whether the Person has complied 
with ORS 98.352. The Treasurer may select a Person to participate in one of the following types of Examination 
conducted by the Treasurer's Authorized Representatives:¶ 
(a) A full audit;¶ 
(b) A limited-scope audit, where only specific property types are reviewed; or¶ 
(c) A self-directed audit where the Person is guided through the review by the Treasurer's Authorized 
Representatives.¶ 
(10) "Government Body" means a court, state or other government, governmental subdivision or agency, law 
enforcement agency, county fiscal officer, public corporation, public authority, quasi-governmental agency, public 
officer of this state, political subdivision of this state, or Public Employees' Retirement System.¶ 
(911) "Holder" means a Person, wherever organized or domiciled, who is:¶ 
(a) In possession of Property belonging to another;¶ 
(b) A trustee; or¶ 
(c) Indebted to another on an obligation.¶ 
(102) "Inactive" means a lack of Owner generated activity or Owner contact for a prescribed time. See also 
"Dormant".¶ 
(113) "Intangible Property" has the same meaning as ORS 98.302(7), and includes, without limitation:¶ 
(a) Stored value card balances or similar electronically maintained credit balances except gift cards as defined in 
ORS 646A.274;¶ 
(b) Crypto;¶ 
(b) Virtual currencyies (e.g. Bitcoin, etc.); and¶ 
(c) Unidentified remittances.¶ 
(124) "Military Medal" means a medal or decoration awarded to a Service Member for military service.¶ 
(135) "NAUPAMineral" means the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administratorgas, oil, coal, oil 
shale, other gaseous liquid or solid hydrocarbon, cement material, sand and gravel, road material, building stone, 
chemical raw material, gemstone, fissionable and nonfissionable ores, colloidal and other clay, steam and other 
geothermal resources, and any other substance defined as a mineral by law of this state.¶ 
(16) "Mineral proceeds" includes:¶ 
(a) All obligations to pay resulting from the production and sale of minerals, including net revenue interests, 
royalties, production payments, and joint operating agreements; and¶ 
(b) All obligations for the acquisition and retention of a mineral lease, including bonuses, delay rentals, shut-in 
royalties, and minimum royalties.¶ 
(147) "Negative Report" means the Holder did not have any Inactive accounts or other unclaimed assets to report 
for a particular reporting period.¶ 
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(158) "Notice" has the same meaning as ORS 98.322(1)(b).¶ 
(19) "Person" has the same meaning as ORS 98.302, and includes an estate and a trust.¶ 
(1620) "Positive Owner Contact" means documented contact between an Owner and the Holder; either 
generated or initiated by the Owner or in response to the Holder, e.g. email, phone call, letter, personal contact 
etc. Automated, recurring and/or prescheduled credit and debit transactions do not qualify as Positive Owner 
Contact.¶ 
(217) "Property" has the same meaning as ORS 98.302, and includes Tangible and Intangible Property.¶ 
(1822) "Reportable" means the appropriate Dormant or Inactive period as set forth in OAR 170-145-0010 after 
which time an Owner has not claimed his or her asset from a hHolding companyer, and the Holder has taken 
appropriate steps to find the Owner, as described in 170-145-0015.¶ 
(1923) "Safekeeping Depository" means any leased or rented depository used as a deposit for safekeeping of 
Tangible or Intangible Property.¶ 
(204) "Security" has the same meaning as ORS 98.322(1)(c).¶ 
(25) "Service Member" means the Person to whom a Military Medal was initially awarded.¶ 
(216) "Tangible Property" means:¶ 
(a) Property actually being held in a Safekeeping Depository and includes, but is not limited to:¶ 
(A) Contents of safe deposit boxes in financial organizations;¶ 
(B) Contents of safekeeping repositories located in hospitals, health-care facilities, motels, hotels, jewelry stores, 
department stores, professional offices, or any other site where the Holder is acting as a safekeeping custodian for 
the rightful Owner subject to the following exceptions:¶ 
(i) Used personal clothing or similar items with little or no commercial value.¶ 
(ii) Items that are hazardous including, but not limited to: batteries, chemicals, explosives, medical waste, ammo, 
and drugs or similar controlled substances.¶ 
(b) Property held for the Owner by a court, state or other government, governmental subdivision or agency, law 
enforcement agency, public corporation or public authority (for instance unclaimed court exhibits) subject to the 
following exceptions:¶ 
(A) Used personal clothing or similar items with little or no commercial value; and¶ 
(B) Items that are hazardous including, but not limited to: batteries, chemicals, explosives, medical waste, ammo, 
drugs or similar controlled substances.¶ 
(c) Notwithstanding the above, Military Medals are considered Tangible Property.¶ 
(227) "Third-party Administrator" is a Person contracted by the Holder to manage and process account records.¶ 
(238) "Treasurer" means the State Treasurer as established under Article VI, section 4 of the Oregon Constitution, 
the State Treasurer's designee, or the State Treasurer's Authorized Representative.¶ 
(249) "Treasurer's Authorized Representative" means a Treasury, Department of Consumer and Business 
Services, or Office of the Secretary of State employee or any other Person under contract with the Treasurer to 
conduct the eExamination.¶ 
(2430) "Treasury" means the Oregon State Treasury, which is the administrative branch of the Office of the State 
Treasurer.¶ 
(2531) "U.S. Savings Bonds" has the same meaning as ORS 98.319. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.302 to 98.436 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.302 to 98.436, 98.992
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AMEND: 170-145-0010

RULE SUMMARY: Adding new timeframes for property being presumed abandoned based on statutory changes made 

during the 2023 legislative session (ORS 98), which took effect January 1, 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0010 
Determining When Holders Must Report Property 
Property becomes Reportable when presumed abandoned under Exhibit A in the table attached to this rule. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS Chapter 98 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 62.720, ORS 98.302 to 98.436, ORS 98.992

RULE ATTACHMENTS MAY NOT SHOW CHANGES. PLEASE CONTACT AGENCY REGARDING CHANGES.
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OAR 170-145-0010 
Determining When Holders Must Report Property 

 
Property becomes Reportable when presumed abandoned under the following table: 

 
(1) All Holders 

If the Property is: And has been 
Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Intangible personal property in the 
course of a dissolution of a business 
association or Financial Institution 

One year The date of final distribution 

(b) Unpaid wages, including commissions, 
and wages represented by uncashed payroll 
checks owing in the Holder’s ordinary 
course of business 

One years Date the instrument 
becomes due and payable 

(c) Property held in a safety deposit box or 
any other safekeeping repository in Oregon 

Two years Date the lease or rental 
period expired 

(d) Assets of a dissolved cooperative Two years Date of final distribution 

(e) Any Credit Memo issued in the Holder’s 
ordinary course of business 

Three years Credit Memo becomes 
payable or distributed 
without Positive Owner 
Contact 

(f) Any other disbursements issues during 
the Holder’s ordinary course of business 

Three years Date it became payable or 
distributable notwithstanding 
the Owner’s failure to make 
demand or to present any 
instrument or document 
required to receive payment 

(g) All intangible personal property, not 
otherwise covered by ORS 98.302 to 98.436 
and 98.992, including any income or 
increment thereon 

Three years Date it became payable or 
distributable notwithstanding 
the Owner’s failure to make 
demand or to present any 
instrument or document 
required to receive payment 
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If the Property is: And has been 
Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(h) Money order or similar written 
instrument other than a third-party bank 
check 

Seven years Money order has been 
outstanding after its issuance 

(i) Traveler’s check 15 years After its issuance, unless the 
owner has communicated in 
writing with the issuer 
concerning the traveler’s 
check 

 

(2) All Holders holding Property in a fiduciary capacity 
If the Property is: And has been 

Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Intangible personal property and any 
income or increment thereon, including but 
not limited to, property management 
security deposits, attorney trust accounts, 
escrow accounts, and trust accounts 

Three years It becomes payable or 
distributable, increased or 
decreased the principal, 
accepted payment of 
principal or income, 
corresponded in writing 
concerning the property, or 
otherwise indicated an 
interest as evidenced by a 
memorandum on file with the 
fiduciary 

(b) Funds in an individual retirement 
account or a retirement plan or a similar 
account or plan established under the 
Internal Revenue laws of the United States 

Three years Distribution of all or part of 
the funds comes mandatory 
under the terms of the 
account or plan and the 
Holder is unable to distribute 

(c) Funds in an account established under 
ORS 126.805 to ORS 126.886 

Three Years Not payable or distributable 
unless the minor on whose 
behalf the account was 
opened attains the age of 21 
years 
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(3) Business Association 

If the Property is: And has been 
Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Stock, certificates of ownership, or other 
intangible equity ownership interests in a 
Business Association 

Three years The requirements under ORS 
98.322 are met 

(b) Dividends, profit distributions, interest, 
payment on principle, or other sum 

Three years The requirements of ORS 
98.322 are met 

 
(4) Financial Institution 

If the Property is: And has been 
Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Any sum payable on a Credit Union 
drawn check, draft or similar instrument, 
including a cashier’s check and a certified 
check that are due or standing in the name of 
a member, beneficiary, or other Person 

Three years Date it became payable or the 
date of its issuance if payable 
on demand subject to the 
requirements of ORS 98.308 

(b) Any demand, savings or matured time 
deposit, including a deposit that is 
automatically renewable, and any funds paid 
toward the purchase of a share, mutual 
investment certificate or any other interest 

Three years Date of the last Positive 
Owner Contact subject to the 
requirements under ORS 
98.308 

(c) Any certificate of deposit in the form of a 
Dividend Reinvestment Plan 

Three years First maturity date after the 
Holder determines that the 
Owner cannot be located 

(d) Any funds payable for which a Financial 
Institution is directly liable, including 
checks, drafts, cashier’s checks, certified 
checks, or similar instruments 

Three Years After it was payable or after 
its issuance if payable on 
demand subject to the 
requirements of ORS 98.308 
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(5) Government Body 
If the Property is: And has been 

Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Fines, bail, restitution, child support, 
condemnation payments, judgment 
proceeds, municipal bonds and the interest 
thereon, and all other Intangible Property 

Two years Date of the most recent 
Positive Owner Contact 

(b) Tangible Property other than Property 
seized by a removing authority under ORS 
98.245(1)(b), personal Property willfully 
abandoned by the Owner (e.g., automobiles, 
furniture, household goods, or other 
Property specifically addressed by statute); 
Tangible Property consistent of used 
personal clothing or household items with 
little or no commercial value, except Military 
Medal or any hazardous materials 

Two Years Date of the most recent 
Positive Owner Contact 

(c) Intangible Property, including uncashed 
warrants  

Two Years The Property has remained 
unclaimed 

 
(6) Insurance Company 

If the Property is: And has been 
Dormant or 
Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) Funds owing under a life or endowment 
insurance policy or annuity contract 

Three years Funds become due and 
payable 

(b) A life or endowment insurance policy or 
annuity contract not matured by actual proof 
of the death of the insured or annuitant 
according to the records of the company 

Two years Date the policy or annuity 
contract matured and the 
proceeds became due and 
payable under requirements 
in ORS 98.314(3) 
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(7) Utility company or municipality 
If the Property is: And has been 

Inactive for more 
than: 

After the: 

(a) A Deposit or other sum paid in advance 
for Utility services 

One year Date of termination of 
services or funds otherwise 
become payable 

(b) A refund the Utility has been ordered to 
return 

One year The date the refund became 
payable 
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AMEND: 170-145-0015

RULE SUMMARY: Adding due diligence requirements based on statutory changes made during the 2023 legislative 

session (ORS 98.322), which took effect January 1, 2024; clarifying other rules to align the rule language with practice 

and program guidance to holders.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0015 
Holder's Due Diligence Requirements 
(1) A Holder must report all Property presumed abandoned under Oregon law to the Treasurer.¶ 
(2) When the value of the Property being reported is more than $100.00 for an individual owner, the Holder must 
comply with section (3) of this rule. ¶ 
(3) More than 60 days prior to reporting Property presumed abandoned under OAR 170-145-0015, each Holder 
must: ¶ 
(a) Exercise Due Diligence to locate an Owner of the Property or account when the Property or account has been 
Inactive for the length of time required under ORS 98.302 to 98.436 and 98.992; and¶ 
(b) If the Owner is located, notify the Owner of:¶ 
(A) The type of Property being held; ¶ 
(B) The process for claiming the Property from the Holder; and¶ 
(C) That if the Owner fails to claim the Property, the Holder will report the Property or account to the Treasurer 
as unclaimed Property.¶ 
(4) A Holder must clearly demonstrate that it complied with the requirements of this rule by: ¶ 
(a) Verifying that the Holder has not had any Positive Owner Contact related to: ¶ 
(A) The subject Property or account; and¶ 
(B) Any other Property or account belonging to the Owner (e.g., the trust department of a Financial Institution 
should contact other departments of the institution);¶ 
(b) Verifying the lack of a memorandum or other record on file indicating an interest in the Property;¶ 
(c) If the Holder is a credit union or the property is a Security, verify that the Owner has not participated in voting 
during a regularly scheduled meeting; and¶ 
(d) If the Holder is unable to locate the Owner: ¶ 
(A) Verifying that the Owner is not a current employee of the Holder; ¶ 
(B) Reviewing telephone directories, or other available databases to verify the Owner's addressmailing address, 
email address, and telephone number; ¶ 
(C) Verifying the Owner is not a well-known individual or organization (e.g., Department of Treasury, IRS); and¶ 
(D) AVerifying any other effort the Holder may take to find an Owner.¶ 
(5) If a Holder is holding any Property presumed abandoned under ORS 98.322, the Holder must clearly 
demonstrate that it complied with the following requirements:¶ 
(a) Holder must send the initial Notice to the Owner by the primary method it uses to communicate with the 
Owner, either email or standard mail.¶ 
(A) If the Holder believes the Owner's email address is not valid, then the Holder must send Notice by standard 
mail.¶ 
(B) If the Holder primarily communicates by standard mail and has a valid email address, Notice may also be sent 
by electronic mail, at the discretion of the Holder.¶ 
(b) If the initial notice is returned or is undeliverable or the Holder has received no response in 30 days after giving 
the notice, then the Holder must send an additional notice by first class mail to the Owner's last known address.¶ 
(6) A Holder must retain the records or documentation of its compliance with the requirements of this rule for 
three years and make the records or documentation available for inspection when requested by the Treasurer. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422, ORS 98.352 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.352
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AMEND: 170-145-0020

RULE SUMMARY: Removing specific language about reporting format; adding language about lawyer trust accounts 

based on revised reporting process agreed upon by the Oregon State Bar and Oregon State Treasury.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0020 
Reporting Form and Format 
(1) A Holder must submit reports electronically using the NAUPA II Standard Electronic File Format. The reports 
must be submitted through the Unclaimed Property Portal located at https://unclaimed.oregon.gov/app/submit-
a-reporand in the requested format.¶ 
(2) Notwithstanding section (1) of this rule, a Holder may request permission to submit a hard-copy report. The 
request must be in writing and include an explanation of the difficulty of filing electronically. The Holder must 
follow the form and format required by the Treasurer if the request is approved. ¶ 
(3) A Holder must file a Negative Report if required by the Treasurer.¶ 
¶ 
[Ed Note: You may request of a copy of the NAUPA Standard Electronic File Format from the Treasurer, or you 
may download a copy from the NAUPA website by copying and pasting the following address: 
https://mk0unclaimedproo4yy1.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/NAUPAStandardElectronicFileFormat-
11.20.19.pdf](4) A Holder of lawyer trust account funds or interest on lawyer trust account funds must submit a 
report in writing and remit the funds to the Oregon State Bar. The Oregon State Bar will provide the report data to 
the Treasurer based on the Treasurer's instruction. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422, ORS 98.352 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.352
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AMEND: 170-145-0025

RULE SUMMARY: Clarifying and aligning rule language with practice and program guidance to holders.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0025 
Reporting and Delivery of Property to the Treasurer 
(1) Every Person holding funds or other Tangible or Intangible Property, presumed abandoned according to ORS 
98.302 to 98.352 must report and pay or deliver all such Property to the Treasurer, except that funds transferred 
to the General Fund by governmental agencies pursuant to ORS 293.455(1)(a) must only be reported to the 
Treasurer.¶ 
(2) The Holder must designate an employee to serve as the contact Person responsible for the report.¶ 
(3) For accounts Inactive as of June 30, the Holder must file the report after October 1, but not later than 
November 1.¶ 
(4) The Treasurer may, at its discretion, postpone the reporting date, or allow early reporting and payment or 
delivery upon written request by any Person required to file a report. Such action is at the Treasurer's discretion.¶ 
(5) A Holder must report all Property having a value of $50 or more per account or Owner of record, individually, 
and, regardless of value, presumed abandoned according to ORS 98.302 to 98.352 and the timelines established in 
(3) above.¶ 
(a) Reported Property must include the following information, if known:¶ 
(aA) The complete name, address of record, Social Security number, previous names, and any previous addresses 
of each listed Owner; and¶ 
(bB) The type of account, identification number, reference number, last activity or transaction date used to 
presume abandonment, and any specific description of the Unclaimed Property according to the records of the 
Holder.¶ 
(6b) If the Holder believes it is more efficient, it may report a lump sum value, known as an aggregate, for the total 
of individual accounts $49.99 or less, except when the total amount held for any one Owner of several small 
amounts equal or exceed $50 dollars. If Owner detail is not submitted¶ 
(A) If the Holder chooses to aggregate Owner Property, the Treasurer may requests the Holder to certify 
ownership when a potential claim exists for a portion of the lump sum reported.¶ 
(7) To assist the Treasurer in returning funds to the Owner of record, a Holder may report the Owner detail 
information required under subsection (5) of this rule for Property having a value of $49.99 or less per account or 
Owner of record but the Treasurer may not require this actionprovide any available detail for each Property, such 
as Owner, contact information, amount due and other identifier that would allow the Treasurer to look for 
Owners and reunite them with their Property. The Holder may choose to upload this information securely through 
the Unclaimed Property website or send by letter or fax.¶ 
(B) If the Holder does not provide Owner detail for aggregate Property, the Treasurer may request the Holder to 
certify ownership when a potential claim exists for a portion of the lump sum reported.¶ 
(86) In addition to the information required above, a life insurance company must also report the following 
information, if known:¶ 
(a) The full name of each insured or annuitant, or if a class of beneficiaries is named, the full name of each current 
beneficiary in the class, and according to the Holder's records;¶ 
(b) The address of each beneficiary; and¶ 
(c) The relationship of each beneficiary to the insured.¶ 
(97) A Holder of Safekeeping Depositories must comply with the following additional requirements:¶ 
(a) The Holder must complete the specific report form for safekeeping contents or include the required 
information in the Holder's computer-generated format and file the report, separate from the contents, no later 
than November 1.¶ 
(b) In addition to the information required in section (5) of this rule, list each item left in a Safekeeping Depository, 
and the identity of the Owner. The Holder must include information about the original box if the Holder moved 
items to a safekeeping area.¶ 
(c) In accordance with directions from the Treasurer, the Holder must deliver the package of Safekeeping 
Depository contents marked "to be delivered unopened," to the Treasurer by certified mail, return receipt 
requested or hand carried by a courier. The Treasurer must sign a receipt for the unopened package upon delivery 
to the Treasurer, and forward the receipt to the Holder within five working days.¶ 
(d) The Holder must clearly identify on the package the Holder's complete name and return address, the branch (if 
applicable), the return address, and name and phone number of contact person.¶ 
(e) With the exception of hazardous Tangible Property, the Holder must forward the complete contents of 
Safekeeping Depositories to the Treasurer intact. The Holder may not convert, substitute or exchange any coins 
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and currency found in the box.¶ 
(f) The Holder must include information about Safekeeping Depository costs in its report to the Department. The 
Treasurer may require the Owner to furnish proof from the Holder pursuant to OAR 170-145-0015 before a 
claim for a safe deposit box is approved.¶ 
(10ventory contents before remitting Tangible Property to the Treasurer and include inside each package the 
inventory sheet and Owner information. If the Holder returns any boxes to Owners between reporting and 
remitting Tangible Property to the Treasurer, the Holder must provide documentation for any boxes returned to 
Owners.¶ 
(g) The Holder must include information about Safekeeping Depository costs in its report to the Department. The 
Treasurer may require the Owner to furnish proof from the Holder pursuant to OAR 170-145-0015 before a 
claim for a safe deposit box is approved.¶ 
(8) A holder of lawyer trust account funds or interest on lawyer trust account funds must comply with 170-145-
0025(4) and the following additional requirements:¶ 
(a) Provide written reports to the Oregon State Bar in a format provided by the Treasurer.¶ 
(b) Property may not be comingled with other property types.¶ 
(c) Property may not be reported for non-Oregon addresses. Such Property must be reported to the state of 
record.¶ 
(9) Any Holder, business association, transfer agent, registrar or other Person acting on behalf of the Holder of an 
intangible equity ownership interest deemed unclaimed according to ORS 98.322 must, in addition to supplying 
the information required in section (5) of this rule:¶ 
(a) Report and transfer the shares directly to the Treasurer's designated stock broker or transfer agent via 
available electronic medium and include a confirmation of the transfer with the report.¶ 
(b) When an electronic method of transfer is not available the Holder must:¶ 
(A) Where the original certificate is being held by the Holder for the Owner (i.e., stock or other certificate of 
ownership of a business association which has been returned to the Holder, who cannot find the Owner), cancel 
that certificate and issue a replacement certificate of ownership to the Treasurer; or¶ 
(B) When the Holder does not hold the original certificate, issue a replacement certificate i.e., a duplicate 
certificate of ownership or other distribution or stock or other certificates of ownership of a business association 
issued in the name of the Office of the State Treasurer as custodian of unclaimed Property. The original certificate 
of ownership is presumed to be in the possession of the missing Owner.¶ 
(c) In any case, the Holder must report and forward to the Treasurer all outstanding accrued Dividends, along with 
the certificate.¶ 
(110) In addition to providing the information required in section (5) of this rule, a Holder reporting mutual funds 
in book entry form must:¶ 
(a) Transfer the account directly into the Treasurer's account at the Treasurer's designated broker dealer and 
forward a confirmation of account transfer to the Treasurer along with the report; and¶ 
(b) Forward future income in the form of cash (for example, Dividends, Capital Gains, etc.) payable to the 
Treasurer from mutual fund accounts with Dividend Reinvestment Plans.¶ 
(121) If the Holder is a dissolved agricultural cooperative, the Holder must forward the original reports detailing 
unclaimed dissolved agricultural cooperative accounts to the Treasurer along with the funds, and file a copy of the 
report with Oregon State University. The Treasurer must reconcile the report to the delivered funds, deduct the 
costs as provided for in ORS 62.720 and forward the funds to Oregon State University within 14 working days 
after receiving the funds.¶ 
(132) The receiver or other liquidating agent for a dissolved corporation must prepare a report containing the 
names and Last-known Addresses of the Persons entitled to such funds.¶ 
(143) Before October 1 each year, each state agency must prepare a report of all checks, warrants, and orders 
drawn by it which have been outstanding for a period of more than two years prior to July 1, and that have not 
been paid by the State Treasurer. The report must not include checks or orders that have already been paid 
pursuant to indemnity bonds. The agency must forward the report to the Treasurer before November 1.¶ 
(154) After October 1, the State Treasurer may refuse payment of the unpresented checks or orders included in 
the report, and upon instructions by the issuing agency must:¶ 
(a) Transfer and credit the amounts of the unpresented checks or orders dedicated for general funding to the 
General Fund;¶ 
(b) Except for federal funds governed by federal laws and rules as provided in ORS 291.003 and 409.040(2), 
transfer all other funds to the Treasurer; and¶ 
(c) Report information about any payment made to an Owner subsequent to filing the report, but before 
transferring the funds to the Treasurer.¶ 
(165) If the Holder of the unclaimed account is a successor to other Persons who previously held the Property, or 
if the Holder has had a name change, the Holder must include in the initial report prior known names and 
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addresses of the original or previous Holder. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422, ORS 98.352 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.412
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AMEND: 170-145-0040

RULE SUMMARY: Clarifying and aligning rule language with practice and program guidance to holders.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0040 
Holder Examinations 
Every Person receiving at least 10 business days written notice is subject to an eExamination by the Treasurer:¶ 
(1) The Person subject to an eExamination must provide all records, without redaction or omission, necessary to 
determine whether the Person has complied with the requirements of ORS 98.352. Unless authorized by the 
Treasurer, records must be in an electronic format. The Person or Holder subject to Examination must provide 
records timely during the Examination.¶ 
(2) A Holder subject to an eExamination under ORS 98.412(4) must provide all records to the Treasurer or the 
Treasurer's aAuthorized rRepresentative, including those records created or maintained by any Person serving as 
the Holders' registrar, paying agent, Third-Party Administrator, or any other Person creating or maintaining 
records on behalf of the Holder.¶ 
(3) The Person or Holder subject to eExamination must present all records and accounts requested and include, 
but are not limited to:¶ 
(a) Contractual agreements between depositors and the Financial Institution regarding the deduction of 
authorized service charges authorized according to ORS 708.500, account increases or decreases, and the 
cessation of interest payments;¶ 
(b) Records of current accounts, Inactive accounts, and accounts that may have been closed and archived;¶ 
(c) The Holder's procedures for administering Inactive accounts, including searching for and notifying Owners to 
ensure compliance with OAR 170-145-0015;¶ 
(d) Bank reconciliations, outstanding checklists, check registers, void check listings, and bank statements;¶ 
(e) AgedCustomer accounts receivable aging reports;¶ 
(f) Reports from transfer agents showing the name, address, and last date of positive contact with stockholders;¶ 
(g) Uncashed checks that have been returned as undeliverable;¶ 
(h) Uncashed payroll checks that have been returned by a company plant or office;;¶ 
(h) Journal entries that specifically write off stale dated checks;¶ 
(i) Third Party Administrators' contracts, records, and reconciliations; and¶ 
(j) Holder trial balance of accounts and/or chart of accounts.¶ 
(4) The Holder may not report or deliver any past-due Property directly or through a transfer agent during the 
Examination unless the Treasurer provides written authorization to do so.¶ 
(i5) Journal entries that specifically write off stale dated checks;¶ 
(j) Third Party Administrators' contracts, records and reconciliations; and¶ 
(k) Holder trial balance of accounts or chart of accounts. During the Examination, the Holder may not report and 
remit current annual reports directly to the Treasurer. Instead, the Holder must deliver the reports to the 
Treasurer's Authorized Representative between October 1st and November 1st. The representative will review 
the reports to ensure past-due property is not included. Once the review is complete, the representative will 
inform the Holder of their findings, instruct the Holder on any needed changes to the report, and provide a new 
reporting deadline. Current reports will not be considered late when the Holder complies with this requirement 
and the new deadline.¶ 
(46) The Holder must respond to the Treasurer's preliminary findings by providing a written response within 30 
days. ¶ 
(57) The Holder must deliver to the Treasurer any Property, interest, and penalties due based on final 
eExamination findings within 60 days unless the Holder requests to resolve the dispute through a collaborative 
dispute resolution process or files a request for contested case hearing. If the Holder fails to request a 
collaborative dispute resolution process or contested case hearing within the time allowed, the eExamination 
findings and decisions become final. The Holder may request a payment plan or payment period adjustment from 
the Treasurer. ¶ 
(68) A Holder that has been subject to an eExamination by the Treasurer is required to file an annual Holder's 
report, including a Negative Report, for the five years immediately following the examination date even if it is not 
in possession of Property to report and remit. If the Holder has no Property to report for five consecutive years, 
the Holder may request permission to stop filing Negative Reports until the Holder has Property to report. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.412
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AMEND: 170-145-0045

RULE SUMMARY: Adding public records exemptions based on statutory changes made during the 2023 legislative 

session (ORS 192.355), which took effect January 1, 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0045 
Records Maintenance, Retention, and Disclosure 
(1) The Holder is responsible for the content, accuracy, and timeliness of the reports and retention of all records 
associated with the reports as defined in ORS 98.354 whether the report is filed by the Holder or another Person 
on behalf of the Holder.¶ 
(2) Every Holder must maintain a record of the name and Last-known Address of the Owner and such signature 
cards and other evidence which would assist in the identification of the owner for three years after the Property 
has been remitted to the Treasurer. ¶ 
(3) Except as provided in section (4) of this rule, a Person may not release a list of records within: ¶ 
(a) Twelve months after the date the Property is Reportable; and¶ 
(b) Twenty-four months after the date the Property has been delivered or remitted to the department. ¶ 
(4) Lists of uncashed warrants, stale dated checks, or other Property held by a Government Body under ORS 
98.336 are exempt from public review for 24 months after the Property is remitted to the Treasurer.¶ 
(5) Records assembled, received, or used by the state or its audit vendor in connection with a Holder Examination 
are exempt from public disclosure per ORS 192.355(46). 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.302 to 98.436, ORS 98.992
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AMEND: 170-145-0050

RULE SUMMARY: Clarifying and aligning rule language with program practice and other applicable rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0050 
Request for Collaborative Dispute Resolution 
(1) Either the Holder or the Treasurer may request the other to engage in a collaborative dispute resolution 
process when the findings or decision are based on estimates as described in OARS 98.412(4). Both parties must 
agree to the process, and either party can terminate the process at any time. ¶ 
(2) A Holder who disagrees with eExaminations findings by or a decision of the Treasurer under these rules may 
request to resolve the dispute through a collaborative process. ¶ 
(3) The Holder's request must: ¶ 
(a) Be filed within 60 days of the date of the Treasurer's final eExamination findings; and¶ 
(b) Be in writing. ¶ 
(4) The Holder must file the request to resolve the dispute through a collaborative process either by:¶ 
(a) Emailing the request to holder@ost.state.or.us; or ¶ 
(b) Mailing or delivering the request to the following address: ¶ 
Oregon's Unclaimed Property Program¶ 
Oregon State Treasury¶ 
775 Summer Street NE, Ste 100867 Hawthorne Ave SE¶ 
Salem, OR 97301-12795241¶ 
(5) The parties may agree to use mediation or other facilitated process to complete the collaborative dispute 
resolution process. ¶ 
(6) To preserve the right to a contested case hearing, a Holder must file a request for contested case hearing under 
OAR 170-145-0055. A Holder's request to resolve the dispute through a collaborative process does not stay or 
suspend the time that the Holder may request a contested case hearing. ¶ 
(7) If the Holder files a contested case hearing and both the Holder and the Treasurer have agreed to enter into a 
collaborative resolution process, the Treasurer will not refer the contested case to the Office of Administrating 
Hearings for up to 45 days. ¶ 
(8) If the request for contested case hearing has been referred to the Office of Administrative Hearing, the 
Administrative Law Judge will postpone the hearing for not more than 45 days when both the Holder and the 
Treasurer agree to enter into a collaborative resolution process. ¶ 
(9) If the dispute is resolved through a collaborative process, the agreement must be in writing and signed by both 
the Holder and the Treasurer. Once the agreement is signed by both parties, the request for contested case 
hearing will be dismissed with prejudice. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 183.502
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AMEND: 170-145-0055

RULE SUMMARY: Clarifying and aligning rule language with program practice and other applicable rules.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0055 
Requesting a Contested Case Hearing 
(1) A HolderPerson who disagrees with a decision, examinations findings, or penalties issued by the Treasurer 
under these rules may file any proposed decision issued by the Treasurer under this chapter 170, division 145 may 
request for a contested case hearing. ¶ 
(2) The request must: be:¶ 
(a) Be filReceived within 60 days of the date of the Treasurer's decision. ; and¶ 
(b) Be iIn writing; .¶ 
(c3) Identify the issues of law or fact being contested; and¶ 
(d) Provide a summary of the evidence asserted in the petition.¶ 
(3) The HolderThe Person must file the request for contested case hearing either by:¶ 
(a) Emailing the request to holder@ost.state.or.us; or ¶ 
(b) Mailing or delivering the request to the following address: ¶ 
¶ 
Oregon's Unclaimed Property Program¶ 
Oregon State Treasury¶ 
775 Summer Street NE, Ste 100¶ 
867 Hawthorne Ave SE¶ 
Salem, OR 97301-12795241¶ 
(4) The Office of Administrative Hearings will conduct the contested case hearing as provided under OAR 137-
003-0515 and 137-003-0520. The administrative law judge may only issue a Proposed Order.¶ 
(5) No new evidence may be submitted at the contested case hearing. If new evidence is discovered after the 
request is filed, the administrative law judge must remand the case to the Treasurer for further review. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.422 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.402, ORS 98.412
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AMEND: 170-145-0100

RULE SUMMARY: Minor editorial and some clarifying changes.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

170-145-0100 
Voluntary Disclosure Program 
(1) The Voluntary Disclosure Program allows a Holder to come into compliance with the reporting and delivery of 
Property presumed abandoned under ORS 98.302 to 98.436 and these rules without penalty under ORS 98.992 
during the period the Holder participates.¶ 
(2) To participate in the Voluntary Compliance Program, a Holder must meet the following criteria. The Holder: ¶ 
(a) Has identified that it did not report or underreported Property that was Reportable and deliverable in a prior 
year; ¶ 
(b) Is not subject to a current eExamination under these rules; and ¶ 
(c) Has not participated in the Voluntary Compliance Program or the Self-audit Program within the past ten years. 
The Treasurer may waive this requirement if the Property type is new or associated with a merger or acquisition 
of a new company. ¶ 
(3) If the Holder qualifies to participate in the Voluntary Disclosure Program, the Holder must: ¶ 
(a) Enter into a Voluntary Disclosure Agreement with the Treasurer. ¶ 
(b) Conduct a complete examination of the Holder's, the Holder's subsidiaries or other related entities books and 
records for the six years immediately prior to participation; ¶ 
(c) Report and deliver Property that areas required under ORS 98.302 to 98.436;¶ 
(d) Disclose the following for each subsidiary or related entity:¶ 
(A) The Employer Identification or Tax Identification Number issued by the Internal Revenue Service;¶ 
(B) The state of domicile;¶ 
(C) The state of incorporation; and¶ 
(D) The Holder's corporate structure.¶ 
(e) Disclose, in writing, all business positions, methodologies, and estimation techniques, if applicable, used to 
determine Reportable Property; ¶ 
(f) Disclose the Due Diligence performed to locate Owners under the eExamination period; ¶ 
(g) To vVerify the content and accuracy of the records examined to the Treasurer, including the reason for each 
missing or unavailable record; and¶ 
(h) File an electronic report in the form and format required by the directoTreasurer under OAR 170-145-0020 
within 180 days after the Holder enters the Voluntary Disclosure Program. ¶ 
(4) When the Holder completes the Voluntary Disclosure Program, the Holder becomeremains subject to a 
penalty for failing to report, pay, or delivery Property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436 for periods other than those 
covered by the Voluntary Disclosure Program.¶ 
(5) The Treasurer at any time may conduct an eExamination of the Holder's records under ORS 98.412. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 178.050, ORS 98.302 to 98.436, ORS 98.992 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 98.302 to 98.436, ORS 98.992
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